Simulator

More
21 years 11 months ago #17375 by Shane
Simulator was created by Shane
Ok, this may seem a little bizarre...then again there might be some kindred spirits out there. I'm building a "space simulator" for EoC and other future space games. I want to do this right, and I'm very interested in any suggestions the members of the forum may have.
Before I get into this, let me convince everyone I'm not crazy (well, not completely). I'm a contractor, so building the structure is easy and I'm currently taking a course in electronics (and have military experience in that area) so I should be able to wire everything up. I've wanted to build a simulator since I played Elite in 1986, but the computer games just weren't able to provide a good enough simulation to make it worthwhile. I’ve waited and watched. EoC's excellent graphics, sound, and mod-ability made up my mind.

Here's the current stage: The simulator is 6' wide and 10' long. It sits upon two heavy wood runners (skids) so I could call a tow truck to haul the thing if I ever move to another home. It consists of an insulated outer shell and an inner shell (think box in a box). The inner shell is the ‘cabin’ where the pilot sits. The outer shell contains many access ports which give access to the interior wiring. Between the two shells, is a 4 inch space to allow airflow. The simulator will be cooled with a small window-unit air conditioner, which will blow air into the cockpit, then circulate it around the airspace (between the shells, where the bulk of the wiring is), and then return it to the cooling unit. The pilot seat is a suitable bucket seat from a junkyard (I'm still searching for the perfect one).