gun running

More
20 years 7 months ago #17824 by RayOK
gun running was created by RayOK
i am a newbie with this game - and with most of this type of game
with the linear storyline i usually have problems.

anyway - i had an e-mail congratulating me on my activities from the
stepsons. they have asked me to steal a couple of pods of new rifles
and gave me the location. on arrival there is a transport - no weapons in the pod - and three cruisers protecting the transport.

this looks like an impossible mission - no matter what i do i get
slaughtered [:I]

the other problem that i am experiencing is : when in free flight
i am continuously spinning. it isn't too much of a problem but it
does hamper dogfighting - i have to use autopilot at lot which i don't
particularly like as my fighting skills are generally up to scratch.

any help will be appreciated

thanks

Ray OK

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 years 7 months ago #7153 by andrewas
Replied by andrewas on topic gun running
This in an optional mission, so you can skip it. It is worth doing though, personal weapons are one of the scarcer cargos and a garaunteed pod is worth tangling with a few poxy capaitalist-class cruisers. Dont trade it for radioactives or whatever the guys offering, other factions will give you a better trade later.

It is probably possible with your current ship, but it will be a lot easier with turret fighters (IIRC this mission usualy comes up before those are available) so put it off till then. Then put a pair of decent guns on them (I swear by rapid fire PBCs at this stage, quad-lights also have their advantages but are too short ranged.) Keep your fighters docked, and weave around the cruisers - *never* stop and try and avoid flying directly towards/away from any of them - give their gunners an erraticaly moving target at all times. With luck one of them will break off from the others and you can take it down without to much bother.