Retexturing the Dreadnaught

More
8 years 10 months ago - 8 years 10 months ago #19691 by schmatzler
I've just loaded up the Dreadnaught model and tried to retexture it.

Originally I'm more of a Cinema 4D guy and I have some decent experience with it, but it doesn't seem to run with wine here anymore. Since I don't want to switch to Windows, this will be an excellent opportunity for me to learn Blender.

I've already created a nice metal material with the Node editor (which is cool, but really hard!), but now I'm facing the fact that the model only uses triangles instead of quads for the faces, which leaves me with a big problem:
  • The model is low-res and thus we can see the individual faces when I render it
  • I can't just subsurface it, because that works really bad with triangles
Now I have to find a way to convert all the triangles so the surface looks flat. :sick:

Edit: Alright, "Mesh->Faces->Tris to Quads" fixed that problem for me. Now I still have to get it more detailed, seems like I need to do that manually for each part where the ship looks odd. :|

Edit: "Mesh->Faces->Shade Smooth" makes it possible. It's just a lot of work to do.

Space. The final frontier.
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Chessking

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 10 months ago #19697 by RichardSkinner
Yeah going from high poly to low poly is much simpler then going from low to high I think.

it looks like there is enough detail that if you smoothed the hull that it would look pretty seamless, but it may get a little hairy in areas where the vertex concentration goes from very low to very high.

The Priceline Negotiator
Attachments:

More
8 years 10 months ago #19698 by Chessking

Edit: Alright, "Mesh->Faces->Tris to Quads" fixed that problem for me. Now I still have to get it more detailed, seems like I need to do that manually for each part where the ship looks odd. :|