file To the I-War community - Helpers needed!

More
14 years 7 months ago #19117 by aceattacker
Greetings to the I-War Community. I am young, but enthusiastic newbie with the ambition to improve the gameplay feeling of Edge of Chaos.

A bit about myself first: Though I came upon I-War only very recently, I am no stranger to space simulations. Eight years ago, back when I was a kid, I started playing Wing Commander Prophecy. A demo for the first I-War was also available, but the complexity had me so baffled, I never got to really play it.

Now times have changed. I've played many space simulation games, and my recent call for sophistication has been answered by I-War 2. I fondly remember spending the first few hours browsing the in-game encyclopedia and learning everything about the I-War universe, from history to ships, weapons and technology. And I love it, chiefly because I-War is one of the 'hardest', i.e. closest to realistic, sci-fi settings I've ever seen.

Onto the important issue: As you may already have discovered, the weapon balancing in Vanilla Edge of Chaos is a bit troublesome, to say the least. While it is great fun to discover that an Advanced PatCom with four linked Gatling Cannons can tear an enemy corvette to shreds with the first salvo, flying an overpowered ship with an overpowered loadout is only fun for so long. So, to add longevity to an otherwise wonderful game, I propse to change that issue with a mod.