Creating ini's

More
20 years 2 months ago #17954 by Bias Virus
Creating ini's was created by Bias Virus
I'm new to the modding of Edge of Chaos and only know what I have tought myself from editing the files in the resources folder. I figured out how to edited the attributes of the weapons and also how to edit and place shipsin the game for my own use. However this is very limited to me as I don't fully understand how the Ini's for the ships and weapons are built up and what info is requirded in them to do different things. Also the setup files for the ships and weapons are quiet strange and I can only change the colour of the nav lights of the ships and don't understand the rest of it. My question about all of this is, does anyone know where I might find some documents on how these file work and how to use them to do some more advanced modding, because I found some SDK's on this website but cannot use them because if I try to open the documents that explain all this, they are just blank.[:(]
Can anyone help me.

P.S Can anyone tell me how to edit the weapon name displayed in the game for the weapons, I tryed to find the weapon names in the text files but I could only find the cargo names.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 years 2 months ago #8909 by MajorTom
Replied by MajorTom on topic Creating ini's
Unzip the Grafik SDK and look for the file "sim_and_subsim_creation". It is in .rtf format and you can open it with Word or MS-Word Pad.

That explains all the ini values for the different types (classes) of weapons ect.

According to the current "mod Guidelines" agreement: To change a weapons name you should edit in a new cargo name in the weapons ini file and add a new text file that corresponds to that cargo name. Then have that text file activated by a little script in your mod.